فيسبوك تويتر
figurelaw.com

دليل الحمض النووي - التاريخ والحالة

تم النشر في أبريل 25, 2022 بواسطة Adam Eaglin

عندما نشر جريجور مندل دراساته عن الخصائص الموروثة لنباتات البازلاء في عام 1866 ، ربما لم يكن يعلم أنه بدأ سلسلة من الأحداث التي ستنتهي في إدانة شخص ما في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية عام 1987 بناءً على أدلة الحمض النووي. يناقش هذا التقرير تاريخ وحالة استخدام أدلة الحمض النووي في الولايات المتحدة.

كيف يتم جمع أدلة الحمض النووي واستخدامها

الحمض النووي (حمض ديوكسيريبونوكليك) هو حمض نووي يتكون من سلسلتين من النيوكليوتيدات المرتبطة معًا في حلزون مزدوج ، وهو مسؤول عن تحديد السمات الموروثة لكل فرد. تاريخيا ، لا يمكن استخراج الحمض النووي إلا بشكل موثوق من عينات من الدم النظيف أو غيرها من سوائل الجسم. بسبب التطورات العلمية الأخيرة ، يمكن استخراج أدلة الحمض النووي وتضخيمها من مجموعة متنوعة من العينات ، مثل الطوابع الممسحة ، خيط الأسنان ، الشفرات المستخدمة ، والشعر ، وحتى القمصان التي تفوح منه رائحة العرق.

يتم إعادة دليل الحمض النووي إلى المختبر حيث يتم تنظيف العينة وجاهز. يتم تقطيع الحمض النووي إلى قطع صغيرة يمكن التحكم فيها باستخدام الإنزيمات ، ويتم تصنيفها حسب الحجم باستخدام إجراء يسمى "هلام الكهربائي". معظمنا يشترك في حوالي 99.9 ٪ من الحمض النووي لدينا ، ولكن هناك مناطق معينة داخل الحمض النووي لدينا التي تختلف. في مواقع معينة ، تكرر تسلسلات من القواعد الأدينين والثيمين والسيتوزين والجوانيين أنفسهم. تسلسل التسلسلات ، المعروفة باسم تكرار الرقم المتغير ، أو VNTRs ، تنشئ مخططًا شخصيًا فريدًا يمكن استخدامه كدليل للحمض النووي.

يشار إلى VNTRs مع مادة كيميائية مشعة تساعد في القدرة على توليد صورة الأشعة السينية لتسلسل الحمض النووي الخاص بها. يمكن بعد ذلك مقارنة هذه الصور ، التي هي أدلة الحمض النووي المقدمة في المحاكم ، بعينة الحمض النووي التي تم جمعها من المدعى عليه.

تتم مقارنة عينة الحمض النووي من مسرح الجريمة والمدعى عليه في العديد من VNTRs مختلفة ، مما يزيد بشكل جذري من احتمال عدم وجود تطابق بين العينتين. من الناحية الإحصائية ، سيكون الشخص البريء أكثر عرضة للفوز باليانصيب أكثر من إدانته بشكل غير دقيق باستخدام أدلة الحمض النووي ، على افتراض أن العدد المناسب من التسلسلات يتم تحليله.

حيث تقف أدلة الحمض النووي الآن

حدث أول إدانة تم تقديمها بأدلة الحمض النووي في بورتلاند بولاية أوريغون في عام 1987. بدا أن المحلفين مترددين في البداية في أخذ أدلة الحمض النووي على أنها قاطعة ، وربما بسبب الإجراء المعقد - الذي تم تبسيطه لهذا المقال - أي المحامين والمتخصصين كان عليهم أن يشرحوا المحلفون. ترك الإجراء في مهده مساحة كبيرة لمحامي الدفاع لإضافة الشك في القضايا ضد عملائهم. ومع ذلك ، لأن العلم استمر في النمو ، اكتسبت تقنية الحمض النووي والأدلة موطئ قدم في محاكم الولايات المتحدة.

كانت أدلة الحمض النووي والتقنيات المرتبطة بها توجه إلى الأضواء عندما يكون رجل يحمل اسم O.J. اتُهمت سيمبسون بقتل زوجته السابقة وشريكها في عام 1995. كما لعبت أدلة الحمض النووي دورًا كبيرًا في حالة اختفاء ملكة جمال الطفل Jonbenet Ramsey.

نظرًا لاستخدام أدلة الحمض النووي لإدانة الناس بارتكاب جرائم ، فقد تم أيضًا تحرير الأفراد الأبرياء المتهمين بشكل خاطئ بناءً على أدلة الحمض النووي التي تم فحصها بعد الحقيقة. تم إطلاق سراح عشرة أفراد من قوات الإعدام في الولايات المتحدة عندما تم إتاحة تكنولوجيا الحمض النووي في النهاية لفحص حالاتهم.

في وقت كتابة هذا التقرير ، تقوم العديد من الدول والسجون والمجتمعات بتطوير تطبيقات لإنشاء قواعد بيانات الحمض النووي ، وخاصة من الأشخاص الذين يعتبرون مجرمين خطرين أو مجرمين مخاطرة أعلى. يقع مستقبل أدلة الحمض النووي في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية في أيدي الهيئات التشريعية والمحاكم ومختبرات الحمض النووي المسؤولة.

Site Loader
Rock Street, San Francisco

When Gregor Mendel published his studies of inherited characteristics of pea plants in 1866, he probably did not know he was starting a sequence of events that would end in the 1987 conviction of someone in the USA based on DNA evidence. This Report discusses the history and present status of the use of DNA evidence in the United States.

How DNA Evidence is Gathered and Used
DNA (deoxyribonucleic acid) is a nucleic acid consisting of two chains of nucleotides bonded together in a double helix, and is responsible for determining the inherited traits of each individual. Historically, DNA could only be extracted reliably from clean specimens of blood or other body fluids. Because of recent scientific advancements, DNA evidence can be extracted and amplified from an assortment of samples, such as licked stamps, dental floss, used razors, hair, and even sweaty t-shirts.

The DNA evidence is taken back to the lab where the sample is cleaned and ready. The DNA is cut into small, manageable pieces using enzymes, and it is categorized by size using a procedure called”gel electrophoresis.” Most of us share some 99.9% of our DNA, but there are certain areas within our DNA that differ. In certain locations, given sequences of the bases adenine, thymine, cytosine, and guanine repeat themselves. The sequences, known as variable number tandem repeats, or VNTRs, create a unique personal blueprint which can be utilised as DNA evidence.

The VNTRs are indicated with a radioactive chemical that assists in being able to generate an x-ray picture of their DNA sequence. These pictures, which are the DNA evidence ultimately presented in courts, can then be compared to the DNA sample collected from a defendant.

The DNA sample from the crime scene and the defendant are compared in several different VNTRs, radically increasing the likelihood that a match between the two specimens isn’t an error. Statistically an innocent person will be more likely to win the lottery than to be inaccurately convicted using DNA evidence, assuming that the appropriate number of sequences is analyzed.

Where DNA Evidence Stands Now
The first conviction made with DNA evidence happened in Portland, Oregon in 1987. Juries appeared reluctant at first to take DNA evidence as conclusive, possibly due to the complicated procedure – that has been simplified for this article – which attorneys and specialists had to explain to the jurors. The procedure in its infancy left much space for defense lawyers to add doubt into the cases against their clients. However, because science continued to grow, DNA technology and evidence gained a foothold in the United States’ courts.

DNA evidence and associated technologies were thrust into the limelight when a guy by the name of O.J. Simpson was accused of murdering his ex-wife and her partner in 1995. DNA evidence also played a huge part in the event of the disappearance of child beauty queen JonBenet Ramsey.

As DNA evidence was used to convict people of crimes, innocent individuals wrongly accused have also been freed based on DNA evidence examined after the truth. Ten individuals have been freed from death row in the United States when DNA technology was eventually made available to examine their instances.

At the time of this writing, many nations, prisons, and communities are developing applications to create DNA databases, particularly from people considered dangerous felons or higher risk criminals. The future of DNA evidence in the USA lies in the hands of legislatures, courts, and accountable DNA labs.

Post Author: Adam Eaglin